Much Better

About three weeks ago, I had surgery to repair a hiatal hernia. My surgeon said my stomach was almost completely in my chest, pushing on my heart and lungs. I had horrific pain in my abdomen following the surgery, and was living on hydrocodone. Today, Sunday June 29th, is the first day in almost three weeks that I can say the pain is almost non-existent. I feel 98% better.

Before the surgery, I could only eat about a child’s portion before I felt full, even stuffed. Now, I can eat an adult-sized portion, and my lungs can take in more air.

I am a Disabled Veteran, but chose Medicare to do this surgery, because the VA majorly screwed up a hip operation in 2010. I’ve suffered with pain in my hip every single minute since Sept 2010. The VA could not figure out why I had the pain after the surgery, so they just gave up trying and told me I’d probably suffer with this pain for the rest of my life.

Thanks, Veterans Administration.

So, all that is why I haven’t paid much attention to this blog. I expect to get back to this blog in the coming week or two. I appreciate your understanding and hanging in there.

Thanks for following!

About thomlucci

Disabled Veteran from Vietnam era, 2nd generation Italian-American, conservative, born in PA, raised mostly in Europe. Graduated from high school in France in 1966. Former print journalist, professional photographer. Love animals: dogs, cats, horses, mostly. Current Opinions of News is a blog where I vent my frustrations with Democrats, crime, social issues, and so on. Absolutely Mind Boggling is a blog I use to post amazing things. Well, some of them might not be amazing, but interesting, at least.
This entry was posted in Advice, Healthcare, Uncategorized, Veterans Administration and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Much Better

  1. Cindy says:

    Glad you are finally feeling better. I remember the first time I met you… You had all that curly hair.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. Jamie says:

    Thanks for sharing your story and thanks for your service. Glad you’re on the mend!

    Like

    • thomlucci says:

      Thank you, Jamie. Humana is my Medicare insurance. Today is July 4th, and I feel 100% better. I’m very happy with Humana. Hope you had a great 4th of July holiday!

      Like

  3. bullright says:

    Glad to hear of the recovery….. or to just to hear that something worked out well, lately.
    My best, God speed.

    Like

Please comment. We all have opinions. What's your's?

