The Image of Women in Society

Today I watched a segment on CBS This Morning about the image of women in advertising. This brought mixed feelings in me. I hope you readers will not misunderstand my message, but be able to understand how I see things—and maybe agree with it.

First, let me state most, if not all, people in advertising earned or should have earned a college degree. Do you agree? Yet, I am appalled at how often those “college graduates” make commercials with terrible grammar mistakes. How can the people who approve the commercials miss those mistakes? Are they also equally grammatically deficient?

For instance, the Doritos commercial: “No matter where your party is at.” At? AT? They ended a sentence with AT? The person who wrote that line needs to take remedial English, and the person who approved it should be a classmate.

That is not the only commercial with a grammar error. There are many, which makes me believe not only do advertising agencies “distort the truth” about products, they also employ college graduates who are at the same time grammar idiots.

I have little respect for advertising agencies and college graduates who can’t write/speak English properly—if you haven’t already guessed that.

Anyhoo—getting back to the image of women, the gist of the segment was how women are negatively portrayed or ‘looked down’ upon in advertising.

Now, here is where my conflict enters. According to the Bible and Christianity, men are supposed to be the head of the household. Women are supposed to be somewhat [which itself needs expounding upon] submissive.

However, I fully understand how the role of women has changed, starting in WWII when Rosie the Riveter replaced Robert the Riveter because Robert went to war.

After WWII, women had to leave their jobs so men could have their jobs back. During the 50’s and into the 60’s, women’s role was as the mother, wife, the glue that held a family together. That is not degrading, is it? In my family, my mother was, indeed, the glue that held her three sons and husband together. When she passed away, we all drifted apart. Today, my brothers and I are not ‘family’ in the true sense of the word. We could hardly be any further apart, and I’m not referring to miles—or kilometers, if you prefer.

In advertising and on TV of yesteryear, women were seen in the kitchen cooking in dresses, not a hair out of place, all prettied up. In a way, I saw that as respectful and complimentary. Yet, some activist women, I’m sure the same ones who started burning bras, protested that image of women.

Today, it is necessary for women to hold jobs to keep money in the families’ bank accounts. Women are CEO’s. Women own their own businesses. Women are seen as much in upper management as in middle or lower management positions. Some women, especially when husbands have been laid off, have to work more than one job.

I understand the position of women in this society, and I don’t have a problem with that.

Yet, this segment on CBS stated/implied that in a soft drink commercial, for example, it is degrading to see a woman in a bikini, and thought seeing women in a more “masculine” or less feminine image would be preferred.

Here I disagree. There is no one who would argue men and women have physical differences. Right?

Women are supposed to be the “sensitive” sex, the softer sex, alluring and feminine. It is obvious if men were alluring and feminine, they wouldn’t be men as men are supposed to be, right?

Is there a ‘rule’ that says female CEO’s, business owners, and upper managers are NOT supposed to be alluring and feminine? Is there a rule in business that women must be hard and ruthless? That doesn’t mean CEO’s should be soft and cry when the marketing department shows a decline in sales.

I understood the segment on CBS to be saying women need to be shown as more masculine, more aggressive, and less feminine. Why?

Maybe it is the sensitive part of women that makes them get a bit offended by the image now presented in advertising. Maybe women are getting their feelings hurt. Do you see men complaining about the image of them portrayed in advertising? Do you see men complaining about them doing laundry, housecleaning, babysitting?

I am single [again], and I do housework. I do laundry. I babysit—my two kitty kats. LOL! I would LOVE to babysit babies and toddlers, but thanks to the criminal activities of child molesters, if I were to advertise myself as a possible babysitter, people would question my motives. Such a shame. I love babies and toddlers. I wish I had some of my own, but God didn’t see fit to give me a womb [thanking Him profusely].

I think it is women who have a problem with their image, not men. I mean, call a spade a spade. Oh, don’t give me any racial crap about that. Women are women. Thanking God again.

I wonder if women want to rule the world like the science fiction stories and movies where the planet is ruled by women and men are merely sex slaves. Hmm. . .not a bad idea.

Women: you have earned a place in society. True, in many jobs the pay you receive is less than a man’s in the same position, and I am with you in that respect. I think if a woman is doing the same job as a man she should be paid equally.

However, there are some roles in which women should not play a part. For instance, combat. Combat is not a place for a woman. No one will be able to change my mind about that, so don’t even waste your time. Female body builders disgust me.

I don’t like, as stated above, women who are not treated fairly in the business world, but I do not see it to be insulting to portray women as sexy, beautiful, motherly, or any other feminine role.

If being portrayed as motherly is insulting, are you insulting my mother? Your mother?

My advice to women is stop being so sensitive and getting your feelings so easily hurt if an ad shows a woman as being feminine instead of tough, masculine, in torn jeans and ragged T-shirt. I suppose lesbians in the masculine role would prefer the masculine image.

There are many advantages to being a woman and, conversely, many disadvantages. One of the advantages is your choice of attire. You women have an infinite choice of styles, colors, and combinations from which to choose when you dress.

Do men? No. About the only choices we have is what color shirt to wear and what style tie. Plain? Patterned? Now, that doesn’t mean I would like to go to work in a frilly suit, but it would be nice for some designer to come up with a variety of clothing for men that would be accepted in this society as still being masculine.

Men USED to have those choices in the 16th and 17th centuries. Men were as stylish as women, but somehow men were repressed in their fashion choices. Men used to have choices in the styles of hats to wear in the business world. Somewhere in history men stopped wearing hats, and why I don’t know. I like “old” movies like from the 30’s through the 50’s, and men were more stylish than even today. They wore hats, double breasted suits, spats, hankies in the coat pocket, and this was everyday wear not just for special occasions.

We [men] accept, for the most part, women in positions once exclusive to men, but we still appreciate a woman looking and smelling like a woman. I certainly am not attracted to a woman who acts like a butch. BUTCH, not—you know. I am attracted to a woman even if she’s a CEO or Executive Vice President who prefers to be seen as a woman. I’m also attracted to female CEO’s, because they make lots of money. [LOL! Juuuuust kidding!] I’m a man and not a gay man. I’ve never seen anything on a man that I like better than what I see on a woman.

So, if advertising photos show you women in a feminine light, stop complaining about it. You ARE women, right? Don’t be ashamed of being women. Be proud.

You women have made great strides since WWII. No longer are you in the kitchen or running the vacuum cleaner in your Sunday best. You have to understand, though, many lovely women look quite homely trying to be less feminine. Why do you want to be homely? Why are you trying to be frumpy?

You have assets. Use them. That doesn’t mean you should go to work in a blouse so low cut men can see if you have an inny or an outie. Which brings up another point.

If you get offended by a man staring at your, um, chest, then don’t show your chest. If you wear something that shows your impressive cleavage then file a sexual harassment complaint that men are staring at your breasts, well, HELL—what did you expect?

If you set a mousetrap with cheese and get ticked off every time the mouse steals the cheese, why the hell did you put the cheese on the trap in the first place? If you don’t want it stolen, don’t stick it out there.

Okay. I’m done. I could go on for another 1,000 words, but I think this is long enough, and I hope you understand what I am trying to pass on.

Women are sensitive, but sometimes you women are TOO sensitive. You get your feelings hurt way too easily.

I see nothing wrong with the way women are portrayed in advertising—most of the time. But I do agree sometimes advertising agencies go way too far and do, indeed, insult the image of women. That means, each ad must be taken in a case by case manner. Those agencies who degrade women in advertising should be called on it and made to change their ads.

Agreed?

About thomlucci

Disabled Veteran from Vietnam era, 2nd generation Italian-American, conservative, born in PA, raised mostly in Europe. Graduated from high school in France in 1966. Former print journalist, professional photographer. Love animals: dogs, cats, horses, mostly. Current Opinions of News is a blog where I vent my frustrations with Democrats, crime, social issues, and so on.
This entry was posted in Advice, Communications, Economics, Education, Parenting, Society, The News Media, Uncategorized, Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment. We all have opinions. What's your's?

