Do TV Journalists Actually Have College Educations?

Source: Me

In order to earn a college education, no matter what the major, aren’t students supposed to take and pass English? English Composition? English Grammar? SOME sort of English class?

I only have a two year college education, but when it comes to knowing my language (English), my native tongue, I appear to be a lot smarter/more knowledgeable about the English language than TV journalists who 1) have at least a four year degree, and 2) get paid a helluva lot of money for what they do.

These so called wordsmiths apparently do not realize or do not care they are setting an example for younger folks who are still in school. If TV journalists say something like, “I’m going to show you where it’s at,” they pass a message to young people that it is okay to talk like that—which it isn’t!

When they say, “The suspect was found laying on the ground,” again they pass the same message.

When I hear anyone talk like that I realize they do not know how to correctly speak their language. I especially lose a mountain of respect for TV journalists who talk like that.

You ask, “What is wrong with those two sentences?”

Lesson One: To end a sentence with “at” is egregious grammar! It makes me cringe. The sentence is fine without “at” like this: “I’m going to show you where it is.”  “It’s” is a contraction of “it is”. So, by using ‘at’ you are saying, “I’m going to show you where it is at.” DELETE “at”.

Lesson Two: People do not lay down. They lie down. You should not tell your dog to lay down, but to lie down. Living things LIE down. In regards to non-living things, like books, you “lay a book” on the table. Or you lay a tile floor.

Now, I know some of you who are woefully lacking in proper English usage will call me the grammar police, and the only people who do make those accusations are the same people who probably failed English or have no idea how to speak/write their language correctly.

There is nothing wrong with knowing how to speak and write correctly. People will judge you, just like I judge TV journalists, by how you speak/write. If you speak using bad grammar, you will be judged to be not very intelligent or not well educated.

Remember this the next time you apply for a job. If the interviewer hears you make egregious grammar errors, you just lost a few notches with that interviewer.

If you have to write a little something about yourself on the application and your English grammar and spelling appears like a high school dropout wrote it, your application will appear a high school dropout is applying for the job.

There is nothing to be ashamed of by knowing how to speak and write your language correctly. The more intelligent you speak/write your language, the more intelligent you will appear to be. Not only that, but since a majority of Americans speak their language quite poorly, if you learn to speak it and write it correctly, you will be in the group above the national average. You will set yourself above the majority.

It is a travesty so many college graduates speak/write like idiots, ESPECIALLY highly paid TV journalists/anchors.

If I was interviewing for a job and heard you say, “I know where that’s at,” I would be looking for the next applicant, because I just just concluded your IQ is not very high. I would even wonder if you EARNED your high school diploma or if you were just given it so the school can continue receiving funding.

Another thing that gripes me and makes my skin crawl is when I hear someone say, “Can I aks (ax) you a question?” There is no such word in the English language as “aks”. The word is ask.

“I seen it yesterday.” Oh, kill me now. Do you know how to conjugate verbs? It should be said, “I saw it yesterday.”

Do not be ashamed to speak correctly or write correctly. It is something for which you should be proud, not ashamed. In this life you will be judged three ways:

  1. The way you look
  2. The way you speak
  3. The way you write

It’s a fact, whether you like it or not. It is a truth.

I just felt compelled to post this after hearing a Channel 12 TV morning anchor in San Antonio make those two mistakes at the top of this post in less than 30 minutes. I was SO tempted to send an email to the station suggesting this highly paid “journalist” go back to college and retake an English class.

Don’t set bad examples for children who are still learning. If they learn enough, they, too, will conclude those who incorrectly speak the English language are less intelligent.

About thomlucci

Disabled Veteran from Vietnam era, 2nd generation Italian-American, conservative, born in PA, raised mostly in Europe. Graduated from high school in France in 1966. Former print journalist, professional photographer. Love animals: dogs, cats, horses, mostly. Current Opinions of News is a blog where I vent my frustrations with Democrats, crime, social issues, and so on. Absolutely Mind Boggling is a blog I use to post amazing things. Well, some of them might not be amazing, but interesting, at least.
This entry was posted in Advice, Communications, Education, Society, The News Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment. We all have opinions. What's your's?

