1984 Is Almost Here

No, I’m not referring to the year 1984. I am referring to George Orwell’s book 1984.

Every day, the government is accessing more and more of our private lives and often without even asking permission—they just do it.

For instance, check this blog out:

San Jose police could tap into volunteer residents’ private security cameras under new proposal

http://wordpress.com/read/post/id/941904/151679/

Can you believe it? Well, believe it!

I uninstalled Facebook from my smartphone, because I read all the permissions they required, and they wanted just too damn much about my privacy. If you have FB on your smartphone, access what permissions you have allowed FB to have, and it just might scare you to find out how much into your private information you have allowed them to have.

We are approaching a time when there is no more privacy. The government, probably the NSA, can even access the cameras in your iPhones and computers without your knowledge and without your permission and watch you without you even knowing it. You could be undressing in front of your computer while some sneaky scumbag at the NSA is watching you.

This is what I did to prevent that from happening: I put a small strip of black duct tape over the camera on my laptop, and I only remove it when I want to use the camera. If anyone accesses my laptop camera, all they will see is a totally black screen on their computer. However, they could still access your microphone and pick up conversations, so whatever you do, don’t badmouth Obama. They just may come to your door and ask that you let the Jehovah’s Witnesses in. LOL!

Privacy used to be a big thing in this country. I remember when privacy was not an issue before the PC was invented. It was invented in 1980 or thereabouts. By then, I was already 32-years-old, so I remember what the world, what our nation, was like before then.

Those of you who were nothing but a twinkle in your parents’ eyes in 1980 have nothing to reference for comparison. Your world, this world, is far worse than the world I grew up in.

The worst thing that could happen after school when I was growing up was you could get into a fist fight, for instance. Today, students should be issued bullet proof vests when they register for school. Almost every day some crazy jerk is killing people in schools.

There was no Internet. To be social, you had to actually speak face-to-face to someone, talk to them on the phone, write them a letter, send a telegram, or use the HAM radio, for instance.

Today, people have lost the art of being social around other people. The only way some people know how to be social is on a computer.

This world, your world, holds no fascination for me. I would much rather go back to my world. It was a kinder and less complicated world. It was also a helluva lot less dangerous.

Soon, there will be nothing about you that is private. Every conversation, every communication, will be monitored by the government, and it will do things it was not allowed to do when I was growing up.

I’ve said many times before, even on this blog, “Sometimes our worst enemy is our very own government.”

Be afraid, fellow Americans. Be very afraid.

About thomlucci

Disabled Veteran from Vietnam era, 2nd generation Italian-American, conservative, born in PA, raised mostly in Europe. Graduated from high school in France in 1966. Former print journalist, professional photographer. Love animals: dogs, cats, horses, mostly. Current Opinions of News is a blog where I vent my frustrations with Democrats, crime, social issues, and so on. Absolutely Mind Boggling is a blog I use to post amazing things. Well, some of them might not be amazing, but interesting, at least.
This entry was posted in Advice, Communications, Computers/Software, Congress, Economics, Education, Environmental, Financial, Immigration, International, Military, Parenting, Politics, Presidency, Religion, Society, Terrorism, The News Media, White House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment. We all have opinions. What's your's?

