Name Calling

I am Italian-American.  I’ve been called wop, guinea, dago, greaseball—and other names. So what? I’ve been called ugly. So what? I’ve been called stupid. So what? I’ve been called a honky. So what? I’ve been called a cracker. So what? I’ve been called whitey. So what?

Blacks, African-Americans, Negroes (United Negro College Fund), and Colored People (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) call each other ni**ers.  They call themselves that and laugh at it. They don’t get upset. So, why do they get upset when others, especially honkies, whiteys, and crackers call them that?  Is it because they USE that name calling to serve their purposes/agendas like a carpenter uses a hammer?

Is that anything like a husband calling his wife a whore, but gets upset if someone else calls her a whore?

I think the blacks in this country are always on red alert: looking for any opportunity to protest something, accuse someone of being a racist, and/or of using an infraction to get something they want.

I believe it was Lenny Bruce who said if someone said ni**er one million times, it would have lost its meaning long before it is said one million times.

It is a word. It is a word used by insensitive, ignorant, and stupid folks, but is it worth getting all upset about? No it isn’t, especially since they call themselves the very same name.

They just USE the word to serve their purposes.  It would be more sensible, more mature, and less self-serving if they just blew it off when the word is uttered by people who are not classified as being Negroes, the scientific name used to classify the race.

If I was an African-American and someone called me that name, I might say f*** you, and leave it at that, but I wouldn’t go to the ridiculous extremes the blacks go to when the word is used.

I’ve never been a mother, but I’ve been called one, before. Do you think I got upset about it?

“Sticks and stones may break my bones—” and so on, and so on.

 

 

About thomlucci

Disabled Veteran from Vietnam era, 2nd generation Italian-American, conservative, born in PA, raised mostly in Europe. Graduated from high school in France in 1966. Former print journalist, professional photographer. Love animals: dogs, cats, horses, mostly. Current Opinions of News is a blog where I vent my frustrations with Democrats, crime, social issues, and so on.
This entry was posted in Advice, Communications, Race, Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Name Calling

Please comment. We all have opinions. What's your's?

